Emilie’s quilt

A friend had her second baby recently so I used that as an excuse to go through my stash and make a quilt for her. I managed to make the quilt top too big for the backing fabric I had, so made the top smaller so it would fit. It ended up being a bit too small, but that just meant I could finish it quicker…! But then my sewing machine seized up. Well, the needle plate became unusable (long story) so after a new one arrived from America I could finish the quilt.
IMG_0447
This was actually fun to quilt, and the new needle plate made sewing a dream. I don’t know how long I have had a problem with the needle plate, but it feels like I have a completely new sewing machine.
IMG_0441
There were no puckering problems like I had with the last quilt I made, partly because it was a smaller quilt, and partly because I learned my lesson (I hope).
IMG_0437The back of the quilt is super soft flannel, the type of fabric I love to use on baby quilts.
IMG_0446
And the front of the quilt was from a pile of fat quarters I had tucked away. I have enough fat quarters left for an identical quilt, for the next baby to come along.
IMG_0435Now I just need a picture with gorgeous little Emilie lying on this quilt before she outgrows it.

One thought on “Emilie’s quilt

  1. Beautiful quilt and I’m glad the machine is working so well again. Should be some great fabrics available in Malaysia.

Leave a Reply

