Antique Market, Shanghai

Not long after Siobhan and family left, we had more visitors. This time it was Lynne (Geoff’s mum) and her friend Helen. They had just finished a whirlwind trip of China, seeing almost everything we have seen here in just two weeks (it’s taken us two years). Helen stopped by for a few days rest before heading back to Australia, but Lynne stayed almost two weeks. We took in Tiger Hill (again), and a few other things Lynne hadn’t seen before (she was here about 18 months ago) and then we headed to Shanghai, where we saw lots of new cool stuff.

Being the first week in October – National Holiday Week – we expected everything to be mad busy, and it was along The Bund and East Nanjing Road, so we avoided those places. But we stumbled across an “antique market” in the former French Concession that I had wanted to find for a while, and it wasn’t crowded at all. I love just discovering places instead of going out hunting for them – makes for a very welcome surprise. I don’t know how many of the knick knacks are really antiques and how many are just crap made to look old, but they seemed to be begging me to take photos, so I obliged.
Antique market, Shanghai
Antique market, ShanghaiCalligraphy brushes - Antique market, Shanghai
Luggage - Antique market, Shanghai
Antique market, Shanghai
Antique market, ShanghaiBeads - Antique market, Shanghai
Buying a pig - Antique market, Shanghai
Old or new? Antique market, Shanghai
Cars - Antique market, Shanghai
Electronics - Antique market, ShanghaiAntique market, Shanghai
More holiday pictures to follow…

10 thoughts on “Antique Market, Shanghai

  1. Howdy! Would you mind if I share your blog with my zynga group?
    There’s a lot of folks that I think would really appreciate your content. Please let me know. Cheers

    • Of course you may share. I just ask that if you use parts of the blog elsewhere (use the pictures or my words, for example) you credit me or the blog as the owner of the content. Thanks.

  2. Is it just hazy memory on my part- but the clock on the top left looks like the same kind as the one that sat on the mantle at the farm….either that or I’ve hung out with someone else’s grandparents that had one, (this is probably making no sense-I really should be asleep). Hope everyone is good.
    Love me xx

  3. What exactly honestly motivated u to create “Antique Market,
    Shanghai | The Purple Giraffes”? I personallytruly adored it!
    I appreciate it ,Elisha

  4. Exactly how much time did it take u to publish “Antique Market, Shanghai | The Purple Giraffes”?
    It features a lot of superior tips. Thanks a lot -Tiffany

  5. “Antique Market, Shanghai | The Purple Giraffes” was indeed a great blog post and I really
    was indeed really content to locate it. Thank you-Travis

  6. I personally consider this particular post ,
    “Antique Market, Shanghai | The Purple Giraffes”, exceptionally engaging not to mention
    the blog post ended up being a good read. Thanks for your time-Bernd

  7. I personally Feel blog post, “Antique Market, Shanghai | The Purple Giraffes” was indeed really good!

    I actuallycannot agree together with you even more! At last looks like I reallyfound a blog truly worth reading through.

    I appreciate it, Cedric

  8. Precisely how much time did it acquire you to post “Antique Market, Shanghai | The Purple Giraffes”?
    It comes with a large amount of excellent material. Thank you ,Roberto

  9. I personally was seeking for points for my website and discovered your own post, “Antique Market, Shanghai | The Purple Giraffes”, do you mind in the event that I actually use a few of your points?

    I am grateful -Chassidy

Leave a Reply

