Lately

Firstly, thanks so much for all the wonderful wishes. And apologies for keeping it so quiet for so long. As of today we’re 22 and a bit weeks (or something like that) – more than halfway through. Yay!!!

I wasn’t sure when I was going to break the news (see last post). We discovered the news for ourselves in October. We hung onto the news, sharing it only with radiologists, a doctor and a midwife, through all of November. It was a great secret to carry around. We shared the news with family when we saw them in December. They shared the news with more family. Then we told close friends. In January we told work colleagues. In February I told the Internet.

I’m getting bigger but am still waiting to see the cute baby belly. I still fit into my jeans (with the aid of a belly belt) but prefer to wear looser, stretchier clothes. I got past the morning sickness, and am now entertaining indigestion.

Relief comes in the form of prenatal yoga. And burritos.

Please don’t say there is a link between the burrito and the indigestion – I don’t think I could cope with that.

We’ve been reading a bit – some new books, some borrowed books, some gifted books, and some second-hand books.

Light reading

And I’ve been sewing.

Cutting quilt pieces 1

This is my second baby quilt, though I haven’t finished the first yet.

Cutting quilt pieces 2

It’s fabric I won from Valori Wells’ website over a year ago – I’m so glad I’ve found something to use it for.

5 thoughts on “Lately

  1. If you’re a bit short of swear words for when the time comes, I’ve heard that Shelly has a huge vocabulary for just that purpose……….just ask a few nurses in Switzerland.

    Those quilts are going to be gorgeous. I’m sure baby needs a different one for each month, so that should keep you busy for a little while.

  2. Pregnancy 101 🙂
    I only made it to 3 Lamaze classes before Kylie was born 3 & a half weeks early (Ross was still in the Marines and didn’t get there until after she was born). We did the entire course before Andrew’s birth (it was fun with all the other couples…all us preggy women lugging our pillows to class to lean on) and then he came so fast I hardly had time to do all those breathing exercises we’d practiced so diligently. Which was good! Fast is good!
    With Kathy (our 3rd) we were old pros. No problem, mate!
    (Well, it wasn’t quite that easy, but…)
    Read up on breastfeeding if you’re going to do it (there’s a lot to learn). It’s a wonderful experience….as is child rearing. You’re gonna love it!
    That fabric is beautiful!

Leave a Reply

