Look at what You-Tube has taught me

Last year You-Tube taught me how to knit.  This year You-Tube taught me how to free-motion quilt (can’t remember exactly what video it was).  Behold:

IMG_3307

IMG_3310

IMG_3312It is important not to look too closely at the uneven stitch lengths – or other general dodgyness (such as the actual pattern) – coz it IS my first one.  Still, apart from the cramps in my right hand, I think I’m a convert.  Will I ever hand quilt again????

I also do need to give honourable mention to the Red Button ladies who gave me great tips last Monday (don’t know why it’s working now when it wasn’t then) and dishonourable mention to one of the Red Button ladies who kinda outed me with my sewing machine maintenence.  Who knew you were supposed to remove that foot plate to get the lint out of the bobbin case??

7 thoughts on “Look at what You-Tube has taught me

  1. I am so impressed. Well done Tanya, now I’ll just have to get my act together and teach myself this too.

    Well done.

    I’m off to check out you-tube… will bring my efforts on Monday night.

  2. That is damn good quilting. I need to go to You Tube for that! I just can’t seem to get it ‘going’.
    I actually did know about machine maintenance… once corrected the timing on one of my machines. I think it was a fluke!

  3. Pretty damn good, Tanya.

    Please will you give me lessons, or do I need to watch YouTube as well?

    I guess I’d better make something to quilt first!!!

  4. Just what I hoped my new (cheap) sewing machine will do, the manual isnt that helpful, I shall follow your example and try YouTube. Lovely work!

  5. Pingback: Ben’s quilt « The Purple Giraffe

Leave a Reply

