Somewhere

I don’t know where I am.  Some place that starts with “T”, is north of Nelson, and has super-slow internet.  Luckily, it’s free, or it would have taken half an hour to get this far!!!

Since Te Anau I went to Milford Sound.  The drive there was spectacular, I did a three hour hike before taking a 2 hour cruise on Milford.  It was amazing – but Doubtful sound was my favourite.  I then traveled to Queenstown (stayed in Wanaka) and didn’t go bungy jumping.  I attempted to walk through the Rob Roy Valley (supposedly spectacular) but never made it that far (long, annoying story) then drove through the big mountains before getting to the west coast.  It snowed one night and the mountain tops looked like they had a yummy dusting of icing sugar over their peaks.  I visited Fox Glacier and Franz Joseph Glacier (Franz Joseph was better than Fox, but Canadian glaciers beat them all, if I can be fussy…).  I bought greenstone (jade) in Hokitika, then spent a night in Greymouth because someone said it was wonderful.  They lied.  Drove through to Nelson the next day and stayed in another dump.  But Nelson was lovely.  Today I hiked through Abel Tasman National Park (just a bit of it) and spent a while on the beach.  Finally – there was sunshine and warm weather.

And now, the delay on this computer is ridiculous.  There is five seconds between me typing something and it showing up on the computer.  So mistakes take forever to correct.  Am getting more than a little frustrated.

Finally, I predict the New Zealand postal service to be really bad and Shay’s birthday present will be late (maybe if I had posted presents before tomorrow things would be different…) – so happy birthday Shay and Shelly for tomorrow and the day after – lots of hugs and kisses too.

5 thoughts on “Somewhere

  1. I’d like to see those glaciers and sounds. I’m sure your photos will be spectacular. Sounds like you’re having a great time. I’m sure Shay won’t mind at all if the birthday present is late. I’m the queen of procrastination when it comes to mailing anything!

  2. I’m with Kirsty about Greymouth. In fact the whole of the West Coast can be dodgy, re the weather. Plenty of Pubs though, if that’s your thing!

    A shame the net connections are so slow.
    Can’t wait to see the pics.

Leave a Reply

