What would you do?

Option 1
Take the camera to the jewelers and see if they can bend the pins straight. Cost: about $30 (my guess)

Option 2
Send the camera to a repairer in Brisbane. They will prioritise the job to make sure the camera is fixed and back to me before I go to New Zealand. Cost: up to $400

Option 3
Send the camera back to Hong Kong. They will try to have it back to me in 6-8 weeks. Cost: up to $250

Option 4
Send the camera to the Canon dealer in Australia. They will try to have the camera back to me in 6-8 weeks, but no guarantee about that. Cost: $50 quotation fee then around $350 to replace the part. Plus postage.

This problem appears to be a defect in cameras (particularly Canon cameras, but maybe that is what I Googled) that use CF memory cards. No warranty covers this problem. Whatever option I take, given that I got such a good deal on the camera in the first place, it still (only slightly) works out to be cheaper than if I bought the camera in a shop in the first place. I’m leaning towards Option 1. Then if they can’t help, I’ll probably go to Option 2. But am interested to hear what other people would do.

Sorry this is such a boring post. I am coming to terms with the broken camera and am a little less depressed about it. And am ever so thankful that I still have my trusty Minolta digital. And, come to think of it, I could go back to using film…

6 thoughts on “What would you do?

  1. I would try Option 1. If that fails, head for option 2. If you have it back before you go to NZ I think it will take most of the sting out of your sad.

  2. Actually, I’m compromising and going with Option 5 – my camera is going to America!! To a repairman who likes wombats. It’s gotta be a winner… right??

  3. In keeping with society’s consumeristic nature (are words 4 and 5 actually real ones?) is it cheaper to just get another??? Probably not much help. When are you off to NZ? – You didn’t answer my email 😦

Leave a Reply

