My excuse to leave work early

SEVERE THUNDERSTORM WARNING

for DAMAGING WIND, FLASH FLOODING and LARGE HAILSTONES

For people in the Herbert & Lower Burdekin and parts of the Northern Tropical Coast & Tablelands, Northern Goldfields & Upper Flinders, Central Coast & Whitsundays and Central Highlands & Coalfields Forecast Districts.
Issued at 3:16 PM Friday, 30 November 2007.
Severe thunderstorms are likely to produce damaging winds, very heavy rainfall, flash flooding and large hailstones in the warning area over the next several hours. Locations which may be affected include Rollingstone, Charters Towers, Bowen, Townsville, Collinsville, Ingham, Pentland, Ayr, Cardwell and Tully. The Emergency Management Queensland advises that people should:
* Move your car under cover or away from trees.
* Secure loose outdoor items.
* Avoid driving, walking or riding through flood waters.
* Seek shelter, preferably indoors and never under trees.
* Avoid using the telephone during a thunderstorm.
* Beware of fallen trees and powerlines.
* For emergency assistance contact the SES on 132 500.

thunderstorm-warning.gif

How exciting. I’m at home, the alcohol is chilling and I’m waiting for nature’s show. All I’ve seen so far is the occasional fat drop of rain….

7 thoughts on “My excuse to leave work early

  1. I just checked the BOM site. I don’t see any rain heading our way. I have NEVER in my life known hail in Townsville. (that’s not to say that it wouldn’t be waaaaayyyy cool)

    Sorry – at least you wen thome early though!

  2. Well we were supposed to have winds of 90 miles an hour today, and so I cancelled a trip to the next county. Not too bad here, though the rain will have loosened tree roots and the rivers will all be over their banks. Not the day to go driving down country lanes through woods!

    I tagged you for a meme on my blog. I hope you can find the time to play.

Leave a Reply

