A LESSON IN PATIENCE

Well, it’s here. I’m so glad that Australian Air Express opens at 6:30 am. I was there at 6:45 am.

Yes, you were right. It’s a camera. A beautiful, brand new digital SLR – a Canon EOS 400D. I was thinking about getting a better model Canon, but who am I kidding? I’m not going to take professional shots or anything, so couldn’t justify the expense. I chose Canon because my 35mm is a Canon and I’ll be using the lenses from that camera on this one.

I’m just so excited to have this.

But I can’t use it!!

I have to charge the battery.

But more importantly, there is no memory card. Not even a pathetic little 16 MB card. I’m off shopping in an hour.

So here are some pictures of my new toy (ignore the dirty floor!!).

Camera 3

Camera 2

Camera 1

It also came with other freebies – a tripod (bigger and better than the little bendy ones you usually get with cameras, but compact enough that I can take it with me places – and perfect for my shaky hands), a bag (cheap, but it’s padded and will work until it falls apart), a spare battery (always handy, since it doesn’t take AAs), and lots of other little things – all written in Chinese, so I don’t know what they are. Maybe I should get Kevin Rudd to help me out on that one.

3 thoughts on “A LESSON IN PATIENCE

  1. It looks exactly like mine!!! How exciting 🙂 I don’t know what the difference is, but my manual has both my rebel XTi and your 400D listed on the front. That’s too bad you had to buy a memory card. Hope you got a big one! Having 2 batteries is super duper. Nice that you got a tripod and camera bag too. We were hoping to use the zoom lens that fits our old Canon film camera, but it didn’t fit on my new one. Ross just surprised with with a new zoom lens EF100-300 this past weekend (what a guy :). I haven’t had much of a chance to try it out yet. Can’t wait to play with it!
    I know you’ll have fabulous fun with your new toy. Those first few pics are gorgeous! I especially love the top one.
    Maybe I’ll be able to pick your brain from time to time when I’m wondering about how to do something…so yes, go ahead and read the manual 🙂 I’ve been reading it on and off since April, but I still have much to learn.
    I hope your dear mother isn’t still sucking in her breath and smiling…………

Leave a Reply

